Castings Public House was founded by a team of like-minded foodies; a group of friends who have always liked to eat, drink, and create amazing food. Our hobby quickly led us to opening this restaurant, a place where people from all over can meet to enjoy our specialty dishes and comfortable atmosphere.
Mural Painted By: Carmen Hamilton
THE HISTORY OF 289 JOSEPHINE STREET
A Landmark of Wingham, Ontario
1909: John Ritchie built the building that fronts 289 Josephine Street. Ritchie turned this
building into a real estate/insurance office.
1911: Ford cars are now sold out of Ritchie's building. This didn't last long before farm
implements started to be sold.
1917: The Clinton Knitting Company opened a branch on the second floor of 289 Josephine.
1921: The knitting company moved back to Clinton and the Wingham Times was moved into
1934: Albert Foxton moved his dairy operation to 289 Josephine and added a restaurant &
ice cream parlour.
1962: Foxton sold the dairy to Harvey Clark of Cargill who then sold the Dairy to Remus and
1963: The name was changed to Sunrise Dairy. The Bailey's also bought out Clark's Dairy in
Cargill and the Lyndale Dairy Neustadt. They amalgamated the dairies into one.
Foxton Dairy, 1947
2000's: SunRise Dairy was sold, the building sat empty for awhile. The
building was than bought and turned into a wine and beer making
2002: A bar/restaurant was opened called the Log Inn. It closed in 2003.
2004: The Anchor Pub was opened. It was remodelled inside and out in
the style of an English pub, operated by Alan Elias. Elias also
operated The Riverboat in town.
The Anchor's last call was sold by Ian and Josephine Godfrey.
2020: The building was purchased by Murray and John Simpson and
transformed into the timeless beauty it is today known as Castings